© 2009 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

07/28/09 8:15 PM ET

All-Star trio on All-Metrodome team

Morneau, Mauer, Nathan join 15 former Twins on squad

MINNEAPOLIS -- The Twins' Justin Morneau, Joe Mauer and Joe Nathan all made this year's All-Star team. Now they'll share another accolade, as the trio was named to the All-Metrodome team, announced Tuesday by the Twins in conjunction with Wendy's Restaurants.

Morneau, Mauer and Nathan join 15 former Twins on the 18-man team that honors the organization's best players in the 28 seasons played in the Metrodome. Headlining the list is late outfielder Kirby Puckett, first baseman Kent Hrbek, designated hitter Paul Molitor and manager Tom Kelly.

Nine members of Minnesota's 1987 World Series title team and seven from the 1991 club that won it all made the list. Puckett, Hrbek, Kelly, shortstop Greg Gagne and outfielder Dan Gladden were part of both titles.

Four starting pitchers -- Bert Blyleven, Brad Radke, Johan Santana and Frank Viola -- made the list. Blyleven and Viola each earned victories in the 1987 World Series. Radke remains the winningest pitcher in Metrodome history with 85 victories. Santana won a pair of American League Cy Young Awards in -- 2004 and '06 -- while in Minnesota.

Sharing outfield honors with Puckett and Gladden are Torii Hunter, who won seven Gold Glove Awards with the Twins, and Tom Brunansky, a member of the 1987 title team, who hit 19 home runs in the Dome that season.

Former closer Rick Aguilera joined Nathan as the two relievers on the team. Aguilera currently holds the record for most saves in the Metrodome with 122, while Nathan sits close behind him in second with 113 entering Tuesday's game.

Second baseman Chuck Knoblauch, who won the AL Rookie of the Year Award in 1991, and third baseman Gary Gaetti, who hit a pair of home runs in the first game played at the Metrodome, complete the infield.

The team was selected in a three-phase process, which included votes from fans, media in the Upper Midwest and a veteran's committee that included Twins alumni, representatives from the organization's front office and team historians. The 18-man roster will be presented on Oct. 4 in Minnesota's final regular-season game in the Metrodome before the Twins move to the new Target Field next season.

Tyler Mason is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.