To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to main content

Carl R. Pohlad Award

The Carl R. Pohlad Award recognizes outstanding community involvement and on-field performance of one current Twins player or coach each season. The winner receives $5,000 from the Twins Community Fund to be granted to the charity of their choice.

2017 Winner: Kyle Gibson

  • Kyle Gibson has made a lot of stops on his way to the big leagues; from his youth in Indiana, to college in Missouri, through the minor leagues, and onto to the Twin Cities. Along the way, he has made each place home and made a large impact off the diamond as well.
  • For two years, Kyle has hosted a charity fantasy football league called Big League Impact Minnesota. The league pits sponsors and celebrities against each other in a fantasy football season. In two years, Kyle has raised more than $40,000 for the Twins Community Fund and other various charities.
  • Gibson established a community ticket program that provides Twins game tickets to Christian and inner-city youth groups. Gibson meets personally with each group at the game. Since 2015, more than 1500 people have attended a Twins game for free because of Kyle's generous contributions.
  • Kyle makes his home in Ft. Myers, Fla. - Spring Training home of the Twins. In Ft Myers, Kyle works with a local food shelf called Community Cooperative to help promote them and raise funds for their mission.
  • In addition to the charitable work mentioned above, he also supports organizations like the Boys & Girls Clubs and Cheerful Givers. He visits local children's hospitals, and participates in the Twins' winter caravan, which visits fans in Upper Midwest communities as well as the ball club's annual Twins Hope Week.

Past Winners:

  • 2016 - Eduardo Escobar
  • 2015 - Brian Dozier
  • 2014 - Brian Duensing
  • 2013 - Glen Perkins
  • 2012 - Denard Span
  • 2011 - Carl Pavano
  • 2010 - Jesse Crain
  • 2009 - Justin Morneau
  • 2008 - Joe Mauer
  • 2007 - Johan Santana
  • 2006 - Michael Cuddyer
  • 2005 - Ron Gardenhire
  • 2004 - Torii Hunter
  • 2003 - Doug Mientkiewicz
  • 2002 - Brad Radke
  • 2001 - Corey Koskie
  • 2000 - Denny Hocking
  • 1999 - Ron Coomer
  • 1998 - Terry Steinbach
  • 1997 - Rick Aguilera
  • 1996 - Paul Molitor
  • 1995 - Kirby Puckett
  • 1994 - Kent Hrbek
  • 1993 - Brian Harper